xchangekillo.blogg.se

Windows 98 usb hard drive driver
Windows 98 usb hard drive driver











windows 98 usb hard drive driver
  1. #Windows 98 usb hard drive driver install
  2. #Windows 98 usb hard drive driver drivers
  3. #Windows 98 usb hard drive driver driver
  4. #Windows 98 usb hard drive driver code

#Windows 98 usb hard drive driver driver

I extracted the files for the second driver but I found just a bunch of ".sys" files. I'm not so sure though, given my problems so far. I believe someone is getting an external US Robotics 56k modem for me on eBay at the moment, and my hunch is external modems are more reliable than internal modems so that one may work more seamlessly. This wouldn't be as important if I could get one of the modems to work, but right now neither is working. I have nothing against floppy disks, really, but being able to use USB flash drives would be far more practical. But when I plugged a flash drive in again, the Add New Hardware Wizard no longer opened automatically, and the flash drive was still not recognized in my computer. I then loaded the floppy disk and manually ran the. To test it out, I plugged a flash drive into the computer and the Add New Hardware Wizard opened and prompted for drivers.

#Windows 98 usb hard drive driver drivers

I loaded the following drivers onto a floppy disk, and brought it home: I have a PS/2 keyboard and mouse so flash drives here are my main concern.

windows 98 usb hard drive driver

My research shows that there are third-party drivers available that allow Windows 98 SE to work with USB 2.0 devices including flash drives. The problem is, since this computer is 20+ years old, it only works with USB 1.1. I thought perhaps maybe I didn't have the right drivers, so I decided to load some on. Nowhere in the system was either the NIC or the second modem recognized. I ran the wizard but it didn't detect any new hardware. The "Add New Hardware" wizard did not open by default. It didn't boot the first time but I cycled the power and it booted up fine, more or less. I had a Dell Dimension 8200 laying around that had Windows XP, so I opened it up and took out its internal modem, and the NIC, for good measure. The modem shows up in certain system dialogs but none of the dialers - HyperTerminal, Phone Dialer, etc. I recently tried using the internal modem on the computer - a 56k Compaq modem - for the first time. It's been handed down a few times, and I don't recollect it ever being online but it does have a version of Firefox from 2007 so I could be wrong about that. Or should I just order a Windows 98SE compatible device online? I was hoping to back up my files sooner rather than later as I risk losing 9 years' worth of data on this PC.I have a Compaq desktop computer running Windows 98 SE. Question two: Is this really a USB flash drive driver? Why is it picking this driver? Is there a way to get it to pick the correct driver? There are two BIN files there with today's date in the INF folder: DRVDATA.BIN and DRVIDX.BIN. It says the location of the driver is: c:\WINDOWS\INF\USBSTOR.INF. When I click "Update Driver", then Search for a better driver, then location c:, it says the best driver Windows found is already installed for this device.

#Windows 98 usb hard drive driver code

When I click Properties the error message is Code 10: "This device is either not present, not working properly, or does not have all the drivers installed." Question one: Is there a way to determine which of these three possibilities is the actual problem? When I go to Device Manager I see a yellow exclamation point over the Cruzer Mini/Micro USB Flash Drive. The SanDisk site says Win 98 SE is not supported however, they do list a Cruzer Family 98SE Driver which I downloaded and installed today, but the device still doesn't work. SanDisk Cruzer Micro USB Flash Drive 2.0 GB I have bought two devices, neither of which I can get to work, but let's just start with this one:

#Windows 98 usb hard drive driver install

I need to install a USB Drive on my Windows 98 SE machine so I can back up my files onto it.













Windows 98 usb hard drive driver